Overblog
Edit post Follow this blog Administration + Create my blog

Things they don't tell us about motherhood

Things they don't tell us about motherhood

Motherhood. Cracked nipples. Stretch marks. Breasts that leak. Sleep deprivation. Loss of mind, self, sanity, guilt, more sleep deprivation, ice packs, stiches, nipple cream, engorged breast or breasts, different cries, working out the different cries, hungry, tired, dare I go on?

Motherhood. Birthing classes. Body fluids. Loss of dignity. Food allergies. Did I mention stiches?? Yes . In places that make the whole release of our bodily fluids bloody painful !

Motherhood. Greasy unwashed hair. Interrupted sleep for a glass of water, blanket, favourite toy. I am hungry, toilet trips at 3 am in the morning. ! What the fuck! Get back in bed now!

Motherhood. Begging, bribing, sticky, messy, and the scariest of all is sounding like your mother! What the hell? Like the rest isn't enough.

Things they don't tell us about motherhood

Motherhood. Tantrums, Mummy, Mummy, Mummy. Get it. ! It's all your fault! You did it! I want it now!

When I was pregnant, I remember Massimo and I going to the birthing classes, we met some really nice unsuspecting soon to be parents like us. Everything about the class seemed to be pretty straight forward. As naive as I may sound, back then I was not thinking about giving birth, I was more about making sure my bags were packed, and I had everything I needed. The rest was an after thought.

I do sound naive! Well I will own it. My excitement, nervousness took over.

I really didn't know what giving birth would be like, my energy went into preparing for the arrival of our queenie. Prams, cots, sterilisers, soft toys, and monitors.

You can never be too prepared! Seriously never.

Motherhood. Discharge of bodily fluids, you know , the endless purchases of stretch mark creams, oils , the ones that promise lift without surgery! Now that's naive! Been there, done that.

Things they don't tell us about motherhood
Queenies masterpieces ❤️
Queenies masterpieces ❤️

Queenies masterpieces ❤️

Motherhood. Loss of libido, body issues, and the hormones. Owweeeeee!

Motherhood. Unconditional. Period !

To be informed of the latest articles, subscribe:
Top